Still Have All My Hair

“Once you realize that the road is the goal and that you are always on the road, not to reach a goal, but to enjoy its beauty and its wisdom, life ceases to be a task and becomes natural and simple, in itself an ecstasy.” ~Sri Nisargadatta Maharaj

Last week was a tough week. I felt like pulling out my hair. Serious, though. My hair is a cute, curly afro, and I didn’t take the best care of it since I was so tired. When I went to comb it out, it was a curly, matted mess. Through the struggle, all I heard was my mother’s voice, “Sit still, Jamila. It won’t hurt so much if you stop fidgeting.” (FYI – Not in the least true.)

There are 168 hours in a week, 24 hours in a day. 168 seems like quite a bit of time. 24 does not AT ALL. Like I worked out a schedule for running, I’m going to need a time sheet for the week. First, I’ll place all of my non-negotiable time i.e. work, sleep, food planning and grocery shopping, and recovery meetings. From there, I can plan all the other things I want to do i.e. exercise, time friends, Soul Saturday and Serenity Sunday. Though I suspect, Soul Saturday and Serenity Sunday should be on the non-negotiable list. I, rarely, have specific things I want to do for those days until the day. Then again, that’s why I’m planning. I can plan, but leave room for spontaneity and flexibility.

The first commitment I’ve made is to show up to the page. No matter what. Even if it’s to post a quote. One of the things that’s helped me along my journey is to see how someone works through their rough patches. It’s possible I may be of service to someone else even when I feel inadequate, and I know it’ll help me stay visible. A habit I have is of disappearing or isolating. I go off to figure things out then come back all shiny and new.That’s not how you build relationships or learn to grow. Not that I’m a fan of reaching out, but connecting with people, slowly, but surely, had been a gift.

 

 

 

Tomorrow’s workout – 2 mile walk with a friend. Remember, we’re better together.

 

2 thoughts on “Still Have All My Hair

    • I’m considering there are two types of non-negotiables the way I’m approaching the list. One category is scheduled, set time like work hours. The other category is more flexible; I can fit them after scheduling the first category. Does that make any sense to you?

Leave a Reply

